First of Year 2017

Note: Slow results are revised after recalculation, apologies to all who have been effected.

Photos below report

The traditional Notts County First of the Year Race for the Geoff Parker Memorial trophy and Phil Davis Cup saw a large 37 craft turnout, with everything from an Optimist to a Flying 15. This was all the more surprising as it was a very chilly 5’C (and didn’t I know it in the safety boat!) and a moderate northerly breeze, accompanied by continuous rain.

William Jeffcote started the racing a few minutes late but managed to get the Windsurfers, Fast and slow handicap and juniors off to clean starts.

The racing was in aid of the RNLI and £290 was raised on the day, visitors came from Staunton Harold SC, Nottingham SC, Burton and Attenborough. Two short races were held due to the conditions.

The fast handicap saw Staunton Harold’s Peter Gray and Rich Pepperdine well up in the fleet in their scorpion, often challenging the race leaders. They deservedly won by a good margin on handicap for the second year running. The race for second and third was a little tighter, John Sears & Lindsay Ogden won the first race, but unfortunately capsized in the second race, caught by an unexpected gust. This left it open to Jeremy Arnold and John Allen to come second in a Flying Fifteen followed by The Notts County Commodore Ross Ryan. Crewed by son Oliver. Forth was Angus Wright & Nicki Theocrikoft.

The junior fleet saw just two entries, hardly surprising in the conditions, Molly Hinsliff Smith won, with Hayden Moore second.

The slow handicap fleet saw Andrew Kilburn win in a laser radial with Nigel Pepperdine & Tim Hartley from Staunton in an RS200 second and Kev Nichols in a laser radial all from Notts County Sailing Club.

The windsurfers saw Kevin Clark and Guy Sprekley win a race each, with Kevin winning overall for the brand new Windsurfing Trophy.

The Commodore thanked everyone for coming, and hoped to see everyone at a new reciprocal event with Staunton Harold in February, for two weekends of racing, one at each club.

Results: (revised 3/1/17) Full results please contact us  if you find any other anomalies and I will forward on to the Asst RO.

Fast Handicap: 1st Peter Gray & Rich Pepperdine (Stuanton Hold SC) Scorpion, 2nd Jeremy Arnold & John Allen (Notts County SC) Flying 15, 3rd Ross Ryan & Oliver Ryan Moore (Notts County SC) RS400

Slow Handicap: 1st Andrew Kilburn (Notts County SC) , Laser Radial, 2nd Nigel Pepperdine & Tim  Hartley (Staunton Harold SC) RS200, 3rd Kev Nichols (Notts County SC) , Laser Radial     

Junior: 1st Molly Hinsliff Smith, (Notts County SC) Topper, 2nd Hayden Moore (Notts County SC) , Optimist

Windsurfers – Raceboard: 1st Kevin Clark (Notts County SC), 2nd Guy Sprekley (Notts County SC)

Be Sociable, Share!