First Of Year 2016

The Notts County Sailing Club’s First of the Year Race attracted a great turnout with fifty craft, and a good number of visitors from as far afield as ‘Portsmouth’, but many from local clubs such as Nottingham Sailing Club, Staunton Harold, Burt & Attenborough. The event raised over £444.07 for Cancer Research from entry fees.

Sailing was for the Geoff Parker Memorial trophy, many will remember Goeff from previous New Years Day races, and the Phil Davis Challenge Cup, Phil was an active windsurfer, then dinghy sailor at the club.

The light winds saw a tricky first lap as the wind swung and filled in from a different direction. John Sears took an early lead in an RS 400, but an unexpected shift saw him loose a number of places, John Parr took the lead, with Richard Mason all from Notts County on his tail, but only a few boats and very little time behind was Peter Gray & Simon Forbes in a Scorpion from Staunton, on handicap it saw them in the lead for the Fast Handicap trophy.

The Junior fleet saw Scarlet Desorgher win.

Meanwhile Rich Pepperdine and Tim Gray from Staunton Harold were showing the slow fleet round, with Stephanie Gunn from Notts County third followed by Kevin Andrews also from the home club.

The Windsurfer fleet saw Gerry Ball win from Russ Towns and Ian Pilkington.

All retired to the clubhouse whilst the results were worked out, for a pint or a warming cup of tea, and a natter including with the many regular non sailors who enjoy coming for a catch up.

Results: Full Results (revised 3/1/16)
Fast: 1st Peter Gray & Simon Forbes, Scorpion, Staunton Harold SC, 2nd Richard Mason & John Rowell, Fireball, Notts County SC, 3rd John Parr & Kim Parnham, RS400, Notts County SC.
Slow: Rich Pepperdine, Solo , Staunton Harold, 2nd Tim Gray, Solo, Staunton Harold, 3rd Stephanie Gunn, Solo, Notts County
Junior Scarlet Desotgher, Topper, Notts County
Windsurfer: 1st Gerry Ball, 2nd Russ Towns, 3rd Ian Pilkington

Yachts & Yachting article

Be Sociable, Share!