Laser masters 2019

The Laser Masters took place at Notts County Sailing Club on 23/24th March. The UKLA splits the fleet into Standard and Radial rigs, and a variety of groups such as Master, Grand Master and the like. Around 40 sailors entered and the event was sponsored by: Laser Performance, Tideway Investment, Wildwind, Southeast Sailboats, Fernhurst, Noble Marine insurance, and Rooster.

Saturday dawned with some sunshine and light winds and the first race got under way (after a recall for the standard fleet) soon after 12. Unfortunately the wind swung soon after so the windward leg changed at times. Paul Williamson (Staunton) won the first race in the standard and Ian Jones (Dovestone) in the Radials. Lunch followed and everyone went out for the second race, only to have the wind die away to a flat calm, the racing was soon abandoned. The evening saw a talk by Alan Davis using some footage from the day and a roast dinner meal.

Sunday was a much better day wind wise, as a westerly set in, and whilst gusty was steadier in direction. Racing was underway around 10am and then it was back to back fitting in five races. The Standard fleet saw some close racing with Stuart Hudson (Keyhaven) winning two races, but Alan Davis took three firsts on Sunday so winning the overall title by a point. They were followed by Simon Stonehouse (Rutland), Tim Keithley (West Riding) and Richard Mason (Notts County) all within seven points of each other.

The Radials were a little more clear cut with Ian Jones winning another three races to take the title followed by Rob Cage (Thames) and John Reay.

Yachts and yachting report

Photos from both days below. Standard resultsRadial results

Be Sociable, Share!